Climate Action Committee

On December 3, 2019 the City Council adopted a City Council Resolution declaring a climate emergency and committing to ongoing actions to restore a safe environment. On January 7, 2020 the City Council approved the creation of a Climate Action Subcommittee. The Climate Action Subcommittee will include a cross-section of community members from all sectors working together to create a recommendation to the City Council on specific actions.

Looking for the Electrification Survey? Click here.

At thier meeting on February 10, 2021, their name was formally changed to Climate Action Committee.

The Climate Action Committee will consist of 11 to 13)members from the following backgrounds:

- Two City Councilmembers (Zero Waste Sonoma Rep and one at-large appointment)  - One Planning Commissioner                                                                     
- Climate background
- Two Youth members (ages 17-23)                                                              
- Sebastopol business owner      
- Sebastopol Climate Action or other local climate group representative                                                          - Rights of nature background
- Environmental justice/equity background                                             
- Zero Waste representative/background
- Reside within Sebastopol city limits
- Reside outside Sebastopol city limits within the 95472-zip code

Duties of Climate Action Committee:

•Prioritize actions from Sebastopol’s Climate Action Framework Appendix A 
•Update Climate Action Framework (CAF) as needed, and satisfy responsibilities as assigned to the Committee in the adopted CAF
•Engage in public education and outreach regarding climate issues
•Advise City Council & Planning Commission on meaningful policy options for meeting equity-centered city climate goals
•Recommend actions to City Council for advancing state, national, and international level climate goals

The Climate Action Committee (also known as the CAC) meets 2nd and 4th Wednesdays at 3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

You can reach Climate Action Committee members through the City of Sebastopol Planning Department (707-823-6167) or by email at

Climate Action Committee Members

Committee Members Role Term End
Emmett Hopkins Climate/Sustainability Background 12/31/2024
Alex Goodman Climate Action group 12/31/2024
Dena Allen Climate Action group 12/31/2023
Josho Somine (co-chair) Ecological Background 12/31/2024
Kenna Lee (co-chair) Climate Background 12/31/2023
Liselotte (Lisa) Pierce Cliamge Action group 12/31/2023
Deborah Burnes Business Owner Representative 12/31/2023
Sunali Shanti Sikand Rights of Nature 12/31/2023
Zeno Swijtink Climate Background 12/31/2024
VACANT Youth Representative 12/31/2023
VACANT Youth Representative 12/31/2024
Ambrosia Thomson Zero Waste/Recology expert 12/31/2023
Evert Fernandez Planning Commission liaison as assigned*
Diana Rich, Vice Mayor Council  liaison (at large) as assigned*
Sandra Maurer, Councilmember Council Zero Waste liaison as assigned*
*As assigned - terms coincide with
assignment from Council/Commission


Climate Action Committee Working Groups

(L) = Lead
*   = Non-Committee Participant

Education/Outreach Working Group
Alex Goodman (L) (
Dena Allen,  Kenna Lee, Sunali Sikand
Energy Working Group
Gerry Glaser (L) (
Kenna Lee, Lisa Pierce, Tor Allen*, Steve Pierce*
Equity Working Group
Kenna Lee (L) (
Woody Hastings, Diana Rich
Finance/Funding Working Group
Lisa Pierce (L) (
Woody Hastings, Steve Pierce*
Sequestration Working Group
Josho Somine (L) (
Dena Allen
Transportation Working Group
Alex Goodman (L) (
Woody Hastings, Zeno Swijtink
Zero Waste Group
Sunny Galbraith
Ambrosia Thompson

Staff Liaison
Kari Svanstrom, Planning Director                                                                                                                                                      

Past Meetings (Click to see details)